Skip to content

Gibson Brothers big winners as bluegrass entertainers of the year

2012 September 27
by Steve Ide
The Ryman Auditorium ~ Photo by Stephen Ide

The Gibson Brothers were the big winners as Entertainers of the Year at the IBMA awards ceremony at the Ryman auditorium in Nashville Thursday night, Sept. 27, 2012. Dale Ann Bradley won again as female vocalist of the year, as did Russell Moore. It seemed the votes this year went down more traditional lines this year.

The Gibson Brothers

Eric & Leigh Gibson

Here are the results:

Vocal Group of the Year: Blue Highway

Dobro Player of the year: Rob Ickes

Instrumental Recorded Performance of the of the Year: Angeline The Baker by the Lonesome River Band (artists & producers), Rural Rhythm Records

Fiddle Player of the Year: Stuart Duncan

Male Vocalist of the Year: Russell Moore

Banjo Player of the Year: Sammy Shelor

Female Vocalist of the year: Dale Ann Bradley

Guitar Player of the Year: the late Doc Watson

Best Instrumental Group of the Year: The Boxcars

Mandolin Player of the Year: Adam Steffey

Recorded Event of the Year: Life Goes On” by Carl Jackson, Ronnie Bowman, Larry Cordle, Jerry Salley, Rickey Wasson, Randy Kohrs, D.A. Adkins, Garnet Bowman, Lynn Butler, Ashley Kohrs, Gary Payne, Dale Pyatt, Clay Hess, Alan Bibey, Jay Weaver, Ron Stewart & Jim VanCleve (artists); Bob Kelley, Jack Campitelli & Darrel Adkins (producers); Rural Rhythm Records

Bass Player of the Year: Marshall Wilborn

Gospel Recorded Performance of the Year: Singing As We Rise by The Gibson Brothers (artists); Joe Newberry (songwriter); Eric Gibson, Mike Barber & Leigh Gibson (producers); Compass Records

Song of the Year: A Far Cry From Lester and Earl by Junior Sisk & Ramblers Choice, written by Tim Massey, Rick Purdue & Harry Sisk Jr.

Emerging Artist of the Year: Joe Mullins & The Radio Ramblers

Album of the Year:The Heart of a Song by Junior Sisk & Ramblers Choice (artists), Wes Easter & Ramblers Choice (producers), Rebel Records

Entertainer of the Year: The Gibson Brothers

Awards announced earlier in the day:

Bluegrass Broadcaster of the Year: Kyle Cantrell

Bluegrass Event of the Year: ROMP

Bluegrass Print Media Personality of the Year: Marty Godbey – Crowe On The Banjo

Songwriter of the year: Donna Ulisse

Best Graphic Design for a Recorded Project: Bedrock Manufacturing (designer) for Nobody Knows You, by the Steep Canyon Rangers (Rounder Records)

Best Liner Notes for a Recorded Project: Marian Leighton Levy, Tony Rice: The Bill Monroe Collection, Rounder Records

Bluegrass Hall of Fame inductees: Ralph Rinzler, Doyle Lawson

IBMA Distinguished Achievement Award Recipients: Kitsy Kuykendall
View my tweets from the evening here, along with other IBMA-related tweets. I tweeted until I maxxed out my Twitter account:




Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: